To die a happy man was my final wish.
My last, neigh, my only desire.
Before today I thought it were too much to ask for.
The naive thoughts of a damned fool desperately looking for a way out, but I was wrong.
Never before have I been so happy to be proven wrong.
When I saw it for the first time, popping up out of nowhere, I could not believe my eyes.
I dared not believe it, perhaps out of fear of being wrong or possibly even because there could’ve been no way it were true, but it was.
I spent hours watching, waiting, looking for a fault, a way to confirm my fears yet I found none, nothing.
Feelings filled my mind, my soul and my heart.
Feelings I had not felt in a long time.
No longer was there the cold, the darkness, that unending abyss I have spent so many hours looking into.
Now there was light, a flame flickering in the distance.
It was faint, fragile, but it was there, I felt it, I saw it.
I dared not approach it for what if I extinguished it by accident?
So I sat and watched, I thought and wondered, I laughed and cried.
It felt as if I were the giddy child I once was, not the cynical husk of a man I grew up to be.

So long have I waited, longer than I ever thought I would but at last you came.
Not in the flesh but in the form of a number, a statistic lingering on the stories, reading the tales.
I wish there were a way to thank you, though all would seem hollow compared to what you’ve done for me.
No words could express my gratitude, no feeling would hit the mark.
What do you say to a person who gave you a purpose?
A reason to be?
A writer I may be, or so I wish, but even I know not the answer to this question.
All I can say is thank you.
Thank you for what you have done for me, whether that be intentional or not.

I can now begin my journey as more and more lights begin to flicker, guiding me, leading the way to my final resting place.

Farewell, my friend.

